Chicken · Main Courses

Oven-Roasted Chicken

img_1782

 

I was suffering from Turkey Envy last weekend.  I  craved roasted bird so badly, knowing family and friends were all sitting down to Canadian Thanksgiving dinner at some point that weekend.

So I bought a chicken, with the intention of making myself a full “turkey substitute” dinner, complete with mashed potatoes and gravy, broccoli salad… all the trimmings.

Yeah, that didn’t happen.  I was having a great day at my sewing machine which happens so rarely, I didn’t want to stop working on the bed toppers I was making.   My grumbly stomach finally dragged me away from the bed toppers I was making  and in to the kitchen.  Holy !  7pm already??   Obviously, it was far too late to be making that “thanksgiving” dinner I had been dreaming about.   So,  I washed, dried and salted the chicken and let it roast while I scarfed a slice of leftover pizza for dinner and finished off with a a muffin for dessert.

A couple of hours later, as I stood eating a perfectly roasted chicken leg over the kitchen sink, I realized that this, was probably the best tasting chicken I have ever made.    I smiled,  and gave thanks for all the quick easy lunches this roast chicken will give me.

 

Oven-roasted Chickenimg_1785

1 whole chicken

1 tablespoon kosher salt

2 – 3 sprigs fresh rosemary

Kitchen string

Preheat oven to 350 F

Wash chicken inside and out, then pat dry with paper towels.

Sprinkle  chicken all over with salt, including inside the cavity.  Put the rosemary sprigs in the cavity.

Use the kitchen string to tie the wings close to the body and the legs together.   This is called trussing, and will prevent them from flapping around all over the place while they overcook ,waiting for the rest of the bird to catch up.

Place on rack in roaster, put in preheated oven and roast until thermometer inserted into thickest part of thigh registers 165 F.   Cooking time will vary depending on size of bird, but you should allow 25 minutes per pound.  (Maybe longer, if you were impatient like me and didn’t properly preheat your oven.)   My chicken weighed 4 1/2 pounds and took 2 hours.

Once the chicken is cooked, remove from oven, pour pan juices over top, give it a generous sprinkle of freshly ground pepper and let rest for 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

